Past Life Regression, my two cents

photo 2

According to some of my friends this photo looks an awful lot like me. Apparently I was an infamous madam in Denver circa 1860. I don’t have any recall of it and have my doubts.

When using Hypnotherapy to resolve an issue, it is common to help the client search their memories for an initial sensitizing event (ISE), the earliest underpinnings of the mental/emotional factors of the issue. Every now and then, when doing this process, even without actively trying for a past life regression, we find that the ISE appears to have occurred in another, previous lifetime.

This has caused quite a bit of debate among hypnotherapists (and everyone else) and I doubt any definitive “Is it real or is it Memorex” answer will be found. Most of the time the debate ends with an “agree to disagree” arrangement and that might be the best we get for now.

Personally, I have no problem with the concept of Past Lives; I’ve had clients retrieve memories from past lives that certainly seemed real and rational to me. There has been difficulty in obtaining empirical proof, but I believe that can easily be explained by multiverse theory now being postulated by physicists, what I call the” it really happened, just not in this universe” solution.

To me, the real answer is that it doesn’t matter. As a therapist it makes no difference if the ISE happened in this life, a past life, another universe, a parallel dimension or is complete fiction. It’s in the client’s mind and if resolving it moves them forward, that is all that matters.

Wes Graham C.C.Ht.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment